Koelbrandbrueckenlauf 2013 Recap (1:32:01)

My mother turned 50 today, which leads me to the fact that I haven’t posted the recap for a race we did a few weeks ago. It was the first race we ran together and I must say that I am one proud daughter.

start

On October 3rd, just five short days after finishing my first marathon, I tied my running shoes for the next race.

Runners

I signed up for the Koelbrandbrueckenlauf long before I even knew I would be running the Berlin Marathon. Back in December 2013, the Berlin marathon was sold out and I never even thought about running it. I signed up for the race since I had run it in 2012 and loved it.

I wouldn’t have run it if it wasn’t for my mother. My Mum started running in December last year. To understand the difficulties she had and still has, you must know that she had several spinal disc herniation and could barely walk after her last operation in 2011. Furthermore, she has asthma and has trouble breathing during a lot of her runs.

Shortly before the Koelbrandbrueckenlauf, she ran 30 minutes for the first time. The race is 12 km long. What I have too much of, my Mum has problems with: the belive that with pure will, you can do anything. Not only was the race 12 km, but you run a bridge up twice during the run. With strong winds, this isn’t easy.

bridge

Needless to say that my mother doubted that she would finish. So, I ran the race with my mother to support her.

I had doubts about this race. Fearing that I get injured, also fearing that my already injured food would get worst. Neither of that came true. The first miles of the race were hard and it felt weird to run again. As both of us weren’t fit enough to run the whole race, we did quite a lot of walking, too.

IMG_0036

It was a great experience to run together with someone close, and to support a person who has supported you your whole life. I am looking forward for many more miles.

We both finished in 1 hour 32 minutes and 1 second.

You did it, Mum! Happy Birthday!

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Kohlbrandbruckenlauf, Races and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Koelbrandbrueckenlauf 2013 Recap (1:32:01)

  1. What a cool story! Cheers to you AND your Mom!

  2. Such a nice story. 🙂 Makes me want to go for a walk with my mom.

Leave a comment