What’s Next?

What I was scared of the most while training for my first marathon wasn’t running marathon itself. It was the time after the marathon. What would I do next? What do I do without a coach by my side? Do I want to run another marathon? Do I want to complete my first 70.3? Do I never ever want to workout again? Gosh, what would I do?

While running the marathon, I knew that this marathon wouldn’t be the last. The finish time was what bothered me the most. I knew I was way slower that I could have been without the injury and without the stomach cramps. Seriously, I need to improve that time!

Also, I never wanted to run the Berlin Marathon. Nevertheless, I always wanted to run the Hamburg Marathon.

So, four days after the marathon, while still recovering from marathon number one, I signed up for my next big challenge:

hhmarathon

I can’t wait to run the marathon, I can’t wait to run faster, and I can’t wait to run 42 km in the city I love.

It’s scary to think about training for a spring marathon. My training will start latest in mid February. Most miles will be run in the cold, wet, and dark. However, I think that marathon training will be the right training for me in 2014.

I planned to finish my first half ironman in 2014, but plans have slightly changed. I have just started a new job, and I am out the door from 7 am to 6 pm. Sure I can train for a marathon and a few sprint- and olympic triathlons, but I can’t say that I could train for a 70.3 and still be doing a great job at my new company. Someday, sure, but now?

It’s important to choose races not only because you wish you could race it, but because you know you can train properly and still be the best you can be in “real life”. And running the Hamburg Marathon is all I want for now.

Do you have decided on your big races for 2014 yet?

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

