Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf: Race Report

Writing the race report makes it pretty clear to me that this experience is over. This might be why it took me a while to write this recap, but it’s here now.

My goal was to enjoy the run and to finish with a smile.

I woke up on Wednesday (Race Day!) at 8 am, after around 3 hours of sleep. My neighbors were hosting a party and therefore, I couldn’t sleep for most of the night.

When I finally did woke up to start the day, I felt exhausted and thought about not running. In addition, I had a test at the doctors the next day and had to follow a specific food plan on race day.

I just didn’t feel like running, because nothing was as perfectly as I had expected it to be.

Around 9 am, I decided to not let that all get to me. I paid for this race, and I trained for it. I would at least try to do my best.

When I got to the start line, it started to rain, but it cleared up a little a few minutes before race start.

I got into the crowd of runners, but I stayed far from the runners in the front. I thought I wouldn’t be fast enough.

The gun went off, and the running begun. Soon, I noticed that I was way faster than those runners around me. I passed some of them, but kept my pace slower than I felt like running. I didn’t want to put my finish at a risk.

KM 1: 6:15
KM 2: 5:52

Soon, I saw the Köhlbrandbrücke. I remember thinking: “How the heck am I going to get up there”. If you stand in front of it and looking up, it’s scary. I got slower, but it wasn’t as bad as I had expected it. At km 4, a woman next to me said “already one-third done” and I smiled.

KM 3: 6:10
KM 4: 6:31

Great and fun fact: If you run up a bridge, there will come the time were you will run down again.

Running down was a lot of fun!

KM 5: 6:01
Km 6: 5:24

I got myself water and walked until I had drunk it.

Then, it went back to the bridge, and running up the second time was very hard. I thought about walking for a minute, but I didn’t let it happen. I knew I was almost done.

KM 7: 6:38
KM 8: 6:21

Then, I was on top of the bridge, and I enjoyed the view over Hamburg for the first time, knowing that it would only go down from now on. For the first time, I realised that I would finish the race.

Now that I knew I would finish, I wanted to finish with a, for me, great time. Running down , I run as fast as I could (without dying).

KM 9: 5:06 (fastest km run with my garmin EVER!)
KM 10: 5:31

I run the 10 km in under 1 hour. I only run 10 km twice during my training, and the times were a lot slower- 1:07:38 for the first 10k and 1:05:07 for the second. Both I had run with a few short breaks in between!

Every step I’d be running now would be a personal best since April.

 

KM 11: 5:35
KM 12: 5:23

Official Race Result: 1 hour, 11 minutes and 18 seconds. (5:55 pace)

438 out of 3016 finisher.

age-group place: 104.

I finished, had a huge smile (almost) the whole race and the rest of the day. I did negative split, probably for the first time in my life, and I got a pretty race medal. All goals accomplished!

I found out how much I actually enjoy racing, and I found out I would probably never run a race “just for fun”.

The conditions might not have been the best, but this race was everything I hoped for.

 

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Kohlbrandbruckenlauf and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf: Race Report

  1. loratastic says:

    Congratulations! Good for you for overcoming less-than-perfect conditions and running so well.

  2. Pingback: A Lovely Fall Run | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: What drives me? | ninaruns

  4. Pingback: Nina Runs Turns 1 | ninaruns

  5. Pingback: On Why There Is No Marathon In My 2013 Resolutions | ninaruns

  6. Pingback: The Perfect Morning Routine & Working On My Superwoman Sixpack | ninaruns

  7. Pingback: Hamburg Half Marathon Training 2013- Week 2 | ninaruns

  8. Pingback: Koelbrandbrueckenlauf 2013 Recap (1:32:01) | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

