First Tri

Happy Race Week!

Wait…what?

That’s right, it’s race week for me, and it’s not a usual race week. It’s the week of my first triathlon!!

Five years ago, shortly after running my first half marathon, I came across a sport that I didn’t know about before. By accident, I stumble across the ITU World Triathlon. I went shopping in town and saw that there were a lot of people in front of the town hall. It was the elite women’s race I saw that day, and I was hooked.

Shortly after, at the 2008 Olympic Games, this fellow german won the gold medal. A new triathlon addict was born.

S

It’s almost race week for this guy, too. See you in two weeks, buddy!

I waited five years for my first triathlon. Between then and now, there were lots of savings involved. Finally, I joined a triathlon club and had enough money to buy a road bike.

During the first couple of weeks this year, I was pretty sure I wouldn’t do a triathlon this year.  I just didn’t feel ready for it.

However, when I started swim training last October, I could only swim the crawl for 10 m. Not even a half-year later, I swam 2,8 km in an hour.

Yesterday, I did my longest bike tour ever, 75 km in 2,5 hours.

Furthermore, I just finished my first half in under two hours and I am training for my first marathon.

How could I not be ready for my first triathlon? A sprint triathlon is only a 500 m swim, followed by a 20 km bike ride and 5 km run. Easy, sure. Still, just to sign up was a challenge for me.

It might have been the talks with my triathlon buddies, or the inspiring race reports by Page and Abby. I finally signed up on the last day of June, with only 2 weeks til race day.

I am nervous and excited. Only 5 days until I can call myself a triathlete!

Have you done a triathlon? Any tips for a newbie?

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Tri

  1. st3ve007 says:

    its your first triathlon, forget the time and enjoy yourself out there 🙂

  2. Wow- that’s great news, nina! I’m so happy for you! If you’re swimming, cycling, and running those distances, a sprint will be no problem for you!
    Where is the swim?

  3. Natalie says:

    I just finished my third tri and have 2-3 more this summer. I still am definitely a newbie, but advice for a first time racer would be to pace yourself and make sure you practice transitions and bricks (bike followed by run)! You’ll have so much fun, welcome to the sport!

    • Nina says:

      I haven’t practiced the transition and bricks, but it will be on the list for triathlon nr. 2 🙂 thanks for sharing, Natalie!

Leave a Reply

