Berlin Marathon Training: Week 6

Remember the last post, when I reviewed my New Years Resolutions and added some new? That 75km bike ride? I did it! Today!

As I have had problems convincing my “slow cycling” triathlon buddies to go on a bike ride for the past two weeks, I decided to look for people outside of the tri club. I had been a member of a Facebook group, in which cyclists arrange tours together, for quite some time, yet, I always had been a silent member. Yesterday, I posted  that I would like to ride today, and just minutes after, I was invited to a group of six other cyclists.

I never planed to ride this long today, but it was a lot of fun. It wasn’t even that hard, even though I had problems keeping up with the other ones in the last twenty minutes of our ride.

Week 7 of marathon training is already over, but since I haven’t posted my weekly recap for the 6th week yet, let’s look at week #6 first.

Week 1 (20. May-26. May 2013)
Week 2 (27. May-2. June 2013)
Week 3 (3. June- 9. June 2013)
Week 4 (10. June- 16. June 2013)
Week 5 (17. June- 23. June 2013)

Week 6 (24. June- 30. June 2013):

MarathonWoche6

you can add me on dailymile, but my updates are never up-to-date.

Tuesday: On Tuesday, still on cloud 7 due to my half marathon two days before, I decided to not run because I wasn’t fully recovered. Best decision made that week!
(Planned: 60 minutes easy + running ABC)

Wednesday: 6.5 km in 40:21 @ 6:13 min/km (Intervals)
& 3.5 km run/walk with my mother in 30:22 @ 8:51 min/km
(Planned: 45 minutes with 3x 1:30 min tempo)

Saturday: I don’t remember what happened on Saturday, but I postponed the long run.
(Planned: 90 minutes long run)

Sunday: 14 km in 1:31:52 @ 6:34 min/km
& 90 minutes Sunday morning swim class

24 km or 2 hours, 43 minutes of running.
1 hour, 30 minutes of swimming
20 minutes strength training
or 4 hours, 33 minutes of training.

Ups of the week:

  • Doing some strength training for the first (!!) time of this training cycle was great, I hope to improve that part of my training.

Downs of the week:

  • Those 1:30 minutes intervals were hard. The first run after the Hamburg Half hurt, even thought I rested for two days.

To sum up my feelings: Rest is important. I am glad it doesn’t feel hard to listen to my body. My legs are tired and hurt from running a great race? I don’t regret missing a one hour run this week, because I prefer that over an injury!

14 weeks until Berlin…

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in BMW Berlin Marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Berlin Marathon Training: Week 6

  1. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 7 | ninaruns

  2. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 8 | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 9 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

