Berlin Marathon Training: Week 3

Wait… I am already done with the fourth week of marathon training and haven’t even posted the recap for week 3. Sorry, but in case you didn’t know, I am not the most reliable blogger on earth. Nevertheless, let’s stay with the usual order and look at week 3 of the Berlin Marathon Training first…

Week 1 (20. May-26. May 2013)
Week 2 (27. May-2. June 2013)

Week 3 (3. June- 9. June 2013):

MarathonWoche3

by the way: add me on dailymile

Monday: 45 min Swim Class

Tuesday: 7.5 km in 47:50 @ 6:23 min/km & 15 min running ABC
(Planned: 45 minutes easy)

Wednesday: Running a fever and not feeling well, so I decided to skip this run.
(Planned: 45 minutes, 3x 4min tempo with 30 sec of walking and 2 minutes of jogging in between)

Thursday: 45.25 km biking in 1:55:36 @ 23.5 km/h 

Saturday: Walked around town and decided that this was enough for the day.
(Planned: 20-30 minutes easy)

Sunday: Århus Halvmarathon in 2:00:04 @ 5:16 min/km
It was still raining on Sunday, but I knew I had to make this run happen so I simply did.

28,6 km or 2 hours, 47 minutes of running.
45 min of swimming
45.25 km or 1 hour, 55 minutes of cycling
Total of 5 hours, 30 minutes and lots of happiness

Ups of the week:

  • Running the Århus Halvmarathon. Great experience and an almost perfect run.

Downs of the week:

  • I still haven’t done any strength training. Better start now than be sorry later.

To sum up my feelings: I missed a Sub 2 half marathon by four seconds, but I learned that the time on the clock is not everything. The whole run was worth every step I took. It was much more challenging than I expected, but with every kilometer, I got stronger. This week, I really learned that I am able to do much more then I think I can.

17 weeks until Berlin…

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in BMW Berlin Marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Berlin Marathon Training: Week 3

  1. Congrats on the half marathon!

  2. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 4 | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 5 | ninaruns

  4. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 6 | ninaruns

  5. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 7 | ninaruns

  6. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 8 | ninaruns

  7. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 9 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

