Kick-Off Weekend: Day 2

In case you haven’t read part 1, I went to Bavaria to meet my coaches and the team for the  40th BMW Berlin Marathon, which I will be running on September 29th.

Day two started way to early. My alarm went of at 7am. Even though I didn’t sleep well, I was quickly wide awake. So many fun things on the schedule!

I went downstairs to eat breakfast with the other runners. After a little introduction of the day, I wrote my name on the schedule for the performance diagnostic. My appointment was after lunch, which meant I started the day with an hour of stabilization training, followed of an hour of the Running ABC.

Foto (48)Happy me.

I’ve done some stabilization training before, but I was a total Newby when it came to the Running ABC. We did fun jumps, ran on our toes, on our heels, and if I remember it correctly, we even ran backwards. It was fun to learn so much about the sport I adore, and after a lunch break, it got real.

Two words: Performance Diagnostic.

Just the fact that there would be blood involved scared the heck out of me.

I didn’t die, and a performance diagnostic isn’t that bad. In my case, you start jogging for five minutes, and the doctor takes notes of your heart rate. After five minutes, he takes a bit of blood from your finger tip to measure lactate and then let’s you run a bit faster for another five minutes. This process repeats for about 45 minutes and then your done. Your legs are going to be dead and you will be sweaty, but you are done, and you survived.

Foto (49)Sweaty me.

After a day and three sets of sweaty workout clothes, it was time to relax.

We went to a local running store to learn all about shoes, clothes, watches, and so on. Yes, I bought a pair of shoes, how did you know?

Afterwads, we went to a great italian restaurant and ate way to much food. The day finally (and sadly) ended like the day before. A bunch of runners sitting in the hallway of the hotel, talking about the day and running in general.

[to be continued]

 

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in BMW Berlin Marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kick-Off Weekend: Day 2

  1. Sounds like fun! I’d love to get a performance diagnostic one day!

  2. Pingback: 40th BMW Berlin Marathon Recap (4:28:28) | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

