Berlin Marathon Training: Week 1

Let’s have a break from the Kick-Off Weekend recap “series”, and recap something else. Writing recaps is fun. How about First Week Of Marathon Training Recap!!

Week 1 (20. May-26. May 2013)

DailymileM

by the way: add me on dailymile

Tuesday: 9 km in 1:00:42 @ 6:45 min/km
(Planned: 15 minutes of the running ABC and 45 minutes easy)

Wednesday: Intervals 8,5 km in 50:06 @ 5:54 min/km
(Planned: 45 minutes, 3x 3min tempo with 30 sec of walking and 2 minutes of jogging in between)

Saturday: Woke up, saw it raining, decided to run on Sunday
(Planned: 90 minutes)

Sunday: 14 km in 1:27:45 @ 6:16 min/km
It was still raining on Sunday, but I knew I had to make this run happen so I simply did.

31,5 km or 3 hours, 19 minutes of running. 
No cross-training. Whoops. 

Ups of the week:

  • running these splits during the interval run on Wednesday:

splits

Downs of the week:

  • my very first run of the training. Legs were hurting, I was tired and it rained like crazy.

To sum up my feelings: It seems unreal that I am training for a marathon. I know I am, but my mind hasn’t put the puzzle together yet. I went running in rain twice. Usually, this week would have been a week of one short run or none run at all. I used to be such a baby when it comes to running in all-weather conditions. Training with my own coach, I hope I can get used to running in rain, snow, hot summers…

18 weeks until Berlin

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in BMW Berlin Marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Berlin Marathon Training: Week 1

  1. Woohoo- congrats on your first week of marathon training!
    It doesn’t rain often here, so when it does I love running in it!

  2. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 2 | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 3 | ninaruns

  4. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 4 | ninaruns

  5. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 5 | ninaruns

  6. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 6 | ninaruns

  7. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 7 | ninaruns

  8. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 8 | ninaruns

  9. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 9 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

