Kick-Off Weekend: Day 1

TGIF! After three busy weeks of work and traveling, I am looking forward to a relaxing weekend. It’s about time to catch up on blogging, too.

In case you are new to my blog, you should know that I won an entry to the Berlin Marathon on September 29th, together with a personal coach and a kick-off weekend trip to Regensburg, Bavaria. The trip to Regensburg happened two weeks ago, and I still haven’t blogged about it. You should also know that I am not good in sticking to my blogging schedule.

On Friday, May 10th, I woke up early after a week full of sickness. I had gone to work, but I didn’t feel well. Unnecessary to say that I wasn’t excited to travel down to Regensburg for a Kick-Off Weekend full of running and runners. 

Foto (46)

On my 5 hour train ride from the north to the south of the country, thoughts ran through my mind. I was scared that I would not be able to enjoy the weekend because of this illness that has been bugging me for so long.

All those thoughts were blown away when I met the first of my team mates. I was waiting for the train to stop at the station when I noticed a man holding the very same time schedule that I had read so many times. I ask him whether or not he was participating in the kick off weekend as well, and since he was, we took a cab to the hotel.

There was a bit time left before meeting everyone else, so we looked for some place to eat. The only place we found: McDonald’s. I can’t remember the last time I ate there. Seriously, I have lived a 100 m from a McDonald’s when I lived in Denmark, and the only time I ate there was when the power went of at my place. This is how much I like eating at McDonald’s. I knew I needed to eat something, so I grabbed a wrap and a salat.

At 4 pm, I met the rest of the group and the two coaches. All together, we were about 14 (I think…) people of all age and with all kinds of lifestyles who were all about to start traing for their first marathon. As I already thought, I was the youngest. However, I am someone who enjoys spending time with all kinds of personalities. This is one reason I love our running family: all people may join.

After a short introduction, we went outside for our first run together.

Foto (47)It was a great run. The best part was running with a group of 15 other runners of all levels and it was also great to run in another surrounding. 9 km later, I had forgotten about all the stomach pain and fevers I had the days before.

After a quick shower, we all met downstairs for perfect dinner. Talking with all the runners  training for their first marathon was inspiring!

Dinner went by way to quickly. I jumped in the pool for a quick swim, went into the sauna, and, once again, talked hours about running.

The day was so exciting, and it went over quite fast. When I lay down in bed, I definitely felt the hills during our run earlier that day. Before that day, I only ran in Denmark and northern Germany, and let me tell you, Bavaria is hilly.

I couldn’t fall asleep, I was just too excited for all the things planned the next two days…

[to be continued]

 

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in BMW Berlin Marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kick-Off Weekend: Day 1

  1. Happy Runner says:

    What an awesome way to kick-start your marathon training.

  2. Pingback: Kick-Off Weekend: Day 2 | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: 40th BMW Berlin Marathon Recap (4:28:28) | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

