Rain Is My New Best Friend

Alternative title: Marathon training has started!!

Todays workout:
15 minutes of the running ABC

45 minutes of running
Total of 9km in 1 hour, 42 seconds – 131 days until I’m a marathoner!

Foto (44)

Last Thursday. Not much has changed.

I woke up this morning at 5.30, looked outside, and went straight back to bed.

It’s been raining for days now. Usually, I wouldn’t have gone running today. I am perfect in making running plans and then fail before training even started. I run when I feel like it. Running is supposed to be fun, and it just isn’t fun to run on a cold, rainy day. End of story.

On the other hand, running a marathon isn’t fun, and training for it isn’t either. It’s called a marathon for a reason. It’s going to hurt, and there are going to be days where I might wish I had another hobby, e.g. collecting stamps. I knew that.

However, I am looking forward to the marathon training and the marathon itself like I haven’t looked forward to something for a really long time.

Today was my first official training run for the Berlin Marathon training cycle, and todays run hurt. It was a mental battle, and I hate to admit that my first training run for my first marathon didn’t feel easy.

I am glad I went, though. They say that you’ll never regret a workout, and it must be true a little. Knowing that not all runs can be great, I am looking forward to the upcoming month and all of the runs during the training.

With or without heavy legs.

With or without rain.

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in BMW Berlin Marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain Is My New Best Friend

  1. Pingback: Berlin Marathon Training: Week 1 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

