I Am Running The 2013 BMW Berlin Marathon

I am overwhelmed by all the amazing things happening since Monday. Runners come together to run, help each others with their feelings, and remember those that were affected by the bombings. Over the few past days, I never doubted that the good will always trump the bad, and for that, I am thankful.

I am still in disbelieve on what happened on Monday. I am still shocked and hurt. 

The happenings last Monday and the days that followed showed me, how grateful I am for this community. 

I won’t post the “happy-go-lucky post” I was working on when I heard the news on Monday night.

However, I am ready to tell the world that I won’t let them (so, so glad that the police seem to know who they are now) take running and racing away from me. 

I am going to run the BMW Berlin Marathon on September 29th, 2013.

I always thought that the Hamburg Marathon would be my first marathon to run, simply because Hamburg is where I grew up. I have a connection with this city and I felt that it would be easier to run a marathon here that it would be in any other place of this world. I simply never felt attracted to Berlin. I only have been there three times before: during a family trip, during a school trip, and to get my U.S. visa. All of those trips were in 2006. See? No connection.

When the race was sold out in less than 3,5 hours last fall, I thought:  I should really run this race one time. If a race is sold out in such a short amount of time, there has to be something about it.

A marathon wasn’t a new years resolution this year. However, when I decided that I wouldn’t run my first marathon in Hamburg this year, I made the secret plan to “simply” win a race entre for the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

Last month I saw that a magazine for runners was hosting a giveaway for two race entries for the marathon in our capital. I entered without hesitation. The change that I would win is pretty small anyways, I thought.

Last Friday, I got a mail from the chief editor. I’m in!

As soon as I read the mail, I started writing a post for my blog. It was hard to put my thoughts together in sentences, and the first thing I wrote was

“Oh, boy. I am scared. I am excited. All those mixed feelings just come together in my little brain. I sure need a few days to let that settle down. 42 km and then some are sure a long way to run…

…As I write these words, I am in a deep shock. All I can say that it feels hard to breath. I am scared, but I also feel very lucky. Extremely lucky.”

Those feelings have changed. I am not longer scared, but I am excited to stand against the evil in this world and be part of something as big as a marathon. Next September, I will be running together with 40.000 runners from all around the world, and no one will stop us from celebrating what we love.

I stopped looking forward to my first marathon last Monday. It took a #runforboston to change that feeling. During that run, I finally thought about all the things that were running around my head.

Running is fun.
The World Marathon Majors are great places to race.
You get to run in peace with so many different kinds of people. 

It connects.
It makes me happy to be part of it this year.

 I am glad I get the change to not only run the marathon, but also get free professional training, a performance diagnostics and much more.

Updates about my journey will follow in the upcoming weeks, I promise.

What was your first marathon? Any tips for a soon-to-be marathoner?

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in BMW Berlin Marathon 2013, Goals, Races and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Am Running The 2013 BMW Berlin Marathon

  1. That is so awesome and should be a great time! I’ve never run a marathon so no advice from me but I cannot wait to see how it goes and follow your training! 🙂

    • Nina says:

      You have tons of experience in training and running, one of the things on my “Hollie recommends”-list is to run with gloves while wearing shorts. Just hope I won’t need the gloves until fall 🙂

  2. Wow! Congrats! Did you win a free entry? That is so cool. My advice is to start training now. Get a good base in and build from there. You have plenty of time to get up to 3 and 4 hr runs, but build a base from now until about 4 months before the marathon. Try to get up to 13 or so miles for a long run. Then once marathon training starts, it will be much less painful. Next piece of advice, choose a training plan and stick to it. The worst thing you can do is to go in unprepared. I would be happy to help you in any way I can. I will be training for another marathon myself this year and will be completing 6 or so half marathons this year. Good luck!

    • Nina says:

      Thanks for your advice! I am currently training for a half marathon in June, hope that will work as base building.
      I did not only win a free entry, but also a running coach. Training with him will start next month, and I am really excited about it and thankful for the help!

  3. Pingback: Expo Love?! | ninaruns

  4. Pingback: The 2013 Hamburg Marathon Cheering Recap | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

