Boston

I had been on a runners high since last Thursday. I was extremely happy, excited, thankful… I simply had all kinds of positive feelings right inside of me.

Last night, I was writing a post about all these positive things when I checked twitter.

A few seconds changed my feelings and nothing was the same.

Sure, I am publishing my happy-go-lucky post eventually, but right now, it would be inappropriate. I feel like I need to be ashamed of myself being the happy runner I had been for the past few days.I kind of am.

The finish line of a marathon should be the happiest place on earth. Yesterday, it became a nightmare for many runners.

I can only imagine the pain of those that were there.

I am 5.800 km away, and I feel a lot of pain and anger.

As soon as I heard the terrible news, I wanted to go for a run as a symbol of hugging every single runner in the world. I haven’t yet, but I’ll make sure to do so tomorrow.

Even though it feels surreal that the world continues like it does, I will be standing on the sidelines of the Hamburg Marathon next Sunday. I will scream out my lungs for everyone racing. It will be painful, but I will make sure that whoever did that, will not take our happy place from us.

My thoughts go out to all affected by this tragedy.

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boston

  1. Pingback: The 2013 Hamburg Marathon Cheering Recap | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

