The Perfect Morning Routine & Working On My Superwoman Sixpack

Sorry for me being absent for the first half of Fabulous February, but I had been sick last week. I felt like I was run over by a truck for almost a week. I guess it was not so smart to go running the morning after a colonoscopy with anesthesia. It probably wasn’t so smart  leaving the house after a quick shower with my hair still wet neither. It’s winter, after all. So I paid for it with the worst cold I had in years. Being sick usually gets me off track. I stayed positive, and I kept right on track. Except that I didn’t run for nearly a week. Not running sucks!

FabulousFebruary

Have you noticed that the days are getting longer? I am super excited for longer days and more sun. I love winter, but I am ready for spring to arrive!

Spring is still a bit away, but it’s still Fabulous February. Yay!

I have asked you for help and I loved all of the tips for my new morning routine, which were the following:

  • To drink a glass of cold water first thing (Gabby @ Marathons and Macarons). This is what I have stuck to for the past week. I used to drink my coffee with milk first thing in the morning, but a glass of cold water is clearly the better choice. Thanks for the tip, Gabby!
  • To do some yoga, even if it’s just for 10 minutes and/or drink hot water with lemon (Abby @ Change of Pace). I am going to try drink water with lemon soon, but what I am doing first thing tomorrow is a little bit of yoga. Never really enjoyed a yoga class, but I might start to love yoga as a part of my morning routine.
  • Oliver @ RunToInspire said he is going to start meditating every morning. I like the idea of taking some time for yourself before a busy day, too! 
  • Have Call Me Maybe or Thrift Shop as an alarm. (Facepalmword @ An Amateur Outside). Carly Rae Jepsen would definitely make a great and happy start into the day. My alarm clock sounds terrible!

The other Fabulous February goals are going great, except that, like already said, I couldn’t run much due to the sickness. I am very strict with working out while being sick and taking pharmaceutical. There might be a certain degree of fear towards myocarditis. 

I do have been drinking a lot of water lately, and I use Tone It Up Youtube videos and the Nike Training Club App for Core Training.

I did the Core Crunch two days ago. My stomach is still sore.

I did the Core Crunch two days ago. My stomach is still sore.

When I first downloaded the Nike Training Club App, I loved it. During my training for the Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf, I often used  the Shawn Johnson Stretch Guide, which is a 15 minute stretching routine. The App now also includes a stretch guide for runners, which is shown by Kara Goucher, but I haven’t tried this one yet. Nike Training Club is probably the best workout app out there- and it’s free!

I did the Core Crunch workout and there are also tons of other workouts which focus on the core, so I am pretty sure I will not get bored.

Now that I am all recovered, I am ready to also make running a habit again.

How is your Fabulous February so far?

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Perfect Morning Routine & Working On My Superwoman Sixpack

  1. Corrie Anne says:

    So excited when Kara Goucher got on NTC!!!

    • Nina says:

      Me too! and then I couldn’t download it until a week later, because the app wasn’t working, but this is just how me and technology work together all the time!

  2. Pingback: Sharing Love | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

