New Month, New Habits

Can you believe it’s February already? I know I say this every single year, but seriously, where did January go?

To be honest, I am not too sad January is history. It just wasn’t my month, having a flare-up for half of it and blah, blah, blah. So guess what? It’s a new month, it’s a fresh start, and it’s time for a fabulous February!

FabulousFebruary

A few weeks ago, I read that it takes 21 days to form a habit. “Really?”, I thought, “just 21 days?” That is pretty much nothing. Sure, I can do anything in 21 days, and if that turns into a habit, great!

Months ago, this little piece of information wouldn’t even stay in my head for long. I was fine with myself and my habits, but a half-year of unemployment does not good to anyone. Somewhere in the past months, I lost it. I lost the common thread that used to run through my days. I turned my good habits into bad ones, and bad turned into worse. Of course I didn’t feel well with the two flare-ups of my unknown illness which rules my life in the past 2 monthl, but in addition, it doesn’t mean I need to fuel my body with crappy food and it certainly doesn’t mean I need to feel sorry for myself all freaking day long.

So what does Fabulous February mean?

 

It means forming new habits to make sure February is going to be fabulous! Adding a full week to 21 days of forming a new habits (maybe to secure that the new formed habits stay for longer than 21 days?) equals Fabulous February!

I will focus on:

  • Develop a morning routine

Something I’ll do every morning in order to wake me up and get me going. Not sure what it is yet. Any tips?

  • Make running a habit again!

I used to need running, it’s part of who I was and it is what I still love. This is why I started this blog in the first place! Unfortunately, I just haven’t run much over the past two month. I either didn’t feel well, was in a hurry to finish all things that I should have done while being sick (but didn’t), or I was just to lazy and to comfortable to go outside during rain, storm or snow days.

  • Making Core Training a habit

Not doing any core training right now, but summer is just around the corner, and every girls wants to show of their abs, right?

  • Drink tons of water to support a healthy lifestyle

This is something I need to work on for so long, and I improved. Still need to get better, though!

All in all, Fabulous February means that I am going to exclude my bad habits, and find new habits that will make life awesome. I will find my common thread that will run through my days in a way that makes me enjoy them.

So to start February right, today I went running for the first time in over two weeks! I ran for 4,6 km and I would have loved to go longer, but I had to go to work. I only work 5 days this month, but I am looking forward to keep one of my few good “habits”, namely sending out applications nearly daily to get a real, fulltime job soon. Then, March may be even more fabulous!

What is your best/worst habit? Any tips for my new morning routine? What gets you out of bed and moving?

 

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Month, New Habits

  1. Christine says:

    I’m totally with you. I’m not sad to see January go at all! I love the idea of a Fabulous February and focusing on forming good habits. I too feel like I’ve gotten really off track in the last month or so from being sick, stressed, etc. Here’s to a great and healthy February!

  2. I love the idea of a Fabulous February! I find it really hard to motivate myself to run in the morning in the winter, but I always feel great for the whole day when I do, even if it’s on the treadmill. Drinking a glass of cold water first thing helps wake me up quickly!

  3. I’m also suprised it only takes 21 days to form a habit! Maybe I should try to finally quit sugar!
    Maybe for a morning routine you could do some am yoga, even just for 10 minutes? I’ve started drinking hot water with lemon, and that’s also a nice way to wake up.
    Wishing you a Fabulous February!

  4. RunToInspire says:

    I’m going to start meditating every morning – just for 10 / 15 mins.
    I like the idea of getting still and quiet before craziness starts 🙂

  5. facepalmword says:

    Call Me Maybe or Thrift Shop as an alarm!

  6. Pingback: 28 Days | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

