On Why There Is No Marathon In My 2013 Resolutions

People who know me might have wondered why I didn’t put a Marathon in my post of  New Year’s Resolution. I had a hard time making the decision to not run a Marathon in 2012, and I really was sad when the Hamburg Marathon happened without me, even though I spent the morning of this race watching it on TV and icing my knee. It was the right decision, but that doesn’t mean it was easy.

I was a 100 % sure that my first marathon would happen in 2013, but I haven’t signed up and my goals and expectations have slightly changed over the past couple of month.

I only ran two times last month, mostly because I didn’t feel well in the beginning, then worked my little butt off (I mean it, that job includes walking a lot of stairs while carrying lots of heavy things) and had sore legs for the first two weeks, and then Christmas came in the way. I just couldn’t get myself up to run, and I guess 10 km for something that should have been my base building month just doesn’t do it.

Here are the other main reasons I decided to not run the Hamburg Marathon in 2013:

  • I’ve never trained after a plan

I did a 12 km race, a 15km race, and a half marathon, but during my training, I never had a plan. I just ran whenever I felt like it, which is probably ok for shorter distances, but not for a marathon. I think I might should learn how to train property and after a plan before I train for something as big as a marathon.

I promise I post other pictures of me running as soon as I have other pictures of me running.

I promise I post other pictures of me running as soon as I have other pictures of myself.

  • I don’t want my triathlon training to suffer from marathon training

I can’t have it all. I am not fit enough to go to triathlon training sessions and get a marathon training in. Swimming is going very well at the moment, and I really don’t want to miss one single 7.30 am Sunday morning swim class because I am sore from my long run the day before. Even more, I don’t want to miss riding my lovely road bike on the first warm day of the season only because I am supposed to run 30 km the day after.

Not a new pictures of Scotty. Still the same.

You already seen this picture, too. 

  • I want to finish fast

You are that kind of runner that finished your first marathon in 5 hours? Great! In my opinion, everyone who ever ran a marathon is awesome! I, however, want to finish my first  marathon with a faster time- and I am just not fast enough yet. Oh, and by fast, I mean fast to me, and by that, I basically also mean that I want to race that whole thing, not walk in between and fight for every second on that clock. You don’t get that? Doesn’t matter, I don’t get that neither, but I’ll try to figure it out.

  • I still don’t know what’s wrong with my stomach

Last fall, when I first thought about signing up, I promised myself to not sign up because I know what’s up with that stomach pain that makes me feel real bad once in a while. Early December, I had another break down that made me lie on my bathroom floor crying because of the worst cramps ever. And yes, I know that was too much information to give away on a public blog and I kind of feel like a certain girl on the run now that I said that, you’re welcome. So, no news on that yet+ a promise to myself = no marathon on my 2013 list.

I don’t say I won’t run a marathon this year. I might going to look up fall marathons when my training goes well over the next month and I feel good about it. Sure, I used to think that my first marathon has to be the biggest one in my hometown, but over the  last weeks, I have come to the conclusion that a fall marathon might be better for my first marathon, since I find it easier to get a long run done in the Summer than in the cold winter months. (Let’s see how I think about it in case we should get a crazy hot summer this year. Possibilities are around 10 %)

So what now?

Thanks Nike for posting those pictures everywhere on my facebook feed!

Thanks Nike for posting those pictures on my facebook feed nearly every day! I gett it. It means I should get outside and run. Fine.

I am currently working on a training plan for a half-marathon in April (goal: follow the training plan and have fun), planning on racing a half marathon in June (goal: finish under 2 hours!) and already signed up for a very hilly half marathon in August (goal: stay stong, it’s just a few hills and they are only hills for you because you never lived and ran anywhere else other than northern Germany and Denmark). I am also looking for other fun races and I am doing the Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf again!

I can have an awesome year without becoming a marathoner on April 21, right?

What are your big running goals for 2013? Have you ever decided to postpone  a new distance? Why?

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Goals, Running, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to On Why There Is No Marathon In My 2013 Resolutions

  1. veggiereader says:

    You made the right decision for you. For my first marathon, I decided to run it a month and a half in advance, had no training plan whatsoever and as a result only did 30 of the 42k. I also took my brothers with me who had never run a day in their lives and were too exhausted to finish.Bad decision. This time round im planning 7 months in advance and have a solid plan.
    I think i am actually ready unlike the last time. No need to rush yourself. You Will do it whenever you are ready.

  2. Happy Runner says:

    You need to listen to your body and mind. If your mind is not in it, your body won’t be either. Don’t worry, just do what feels right and one day you will do a marathon. My suggestion: pick one for early autumn (September or October). That gives you plenty of training time, but you don’t have to worry about Christmas and winter running. 🙂

  3. Carrie says:

    Nina, I love this post! I took up triathloning over the summer and decided to simultaneously train for my first swim-bike-run event and half-marathon. Even though I finished both, I definitely stretched myself too thin; I couldn’t devote enough time to biking because of my long runs, and I wasn’t able to train at a “good-for-me” half-marathon pace because of swimming and biking workouts. I know running a marathon is only a matter of time, but I don’t want to sacrifice triathlon training to make it happen. Looking forward to following your blog! 🙂

    • Nina says:

      I am glad to hear that I am not the only one trying to fit both sports into my schedule! I know it’s only a matter of time and training that I will be able to train for both. Good luck for your triathlon in April! I haven’t done a triathlon yet, so I am looking forward following your training and reading your race recap!

  4. Corrie Anne says:

    I totally meant to run a marathon in 2012, but I kept thinking I was going to move and never committed to a race!! Now I’m having a hard time choosing one in 2013 as well. Lol. At least I managed a half last year, in December!! Haha.

    • Nina says:

      I find it so hard to commit to a race. The hardest part is to sign up! The longer the race, the harder it is to click that online registration button.

  5. Pingback: Oh Hey, Update Time! | ninaruns

  6. I completely understand wanting to finish fast. I thought I might run my first marathon this spring — but when I envisioned how I want it to go, I realized I don’t want to be, like, hobbling toward the finish. So, I’m doing a long half marathon training plan this spring, taking 8 weeks off, and then launching into my marathon plan for the fall. I hope by fall I’ll feel capable of earning a time I’m proud of. Anyway, I understand and I look forward to following your training, whatever it’s for!

  7. Pingback: I Am Running The 2013 BMW Berlin Marathon | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

