2013 Is Going To Be The Best Year Ever

Yes, I mean it. I went through so many ups and downs last year, and as I shared my 2012 New Year’s Resolutions Recap with you yesterday, I kind of felt like I am ready for a new start.

Every January begins with a lot of possibilities, and even if the unknown might be scary, it brings a lot of optimism as well. I don’t care if people think resolutions are overrated and unnecessary. I know I failed when it comes to a lot of my 2012 resolutions, but hey, that’s ok, because here are my New Year’s Resolutions for 2013, ready to be accomplished by the end of this year.

I will run this year! PavementRunner and RunningHutch are hosting a challenge to run 2013 miles in 2013. I was kind of sad that I couldn’t join because 2013 miles are just a little too much for me to run in one year. Then I realized that I live in a country were we don’t measure in miles anyways. Hurray for 2013 kilometres in 2013!

I will go on a 50 k bike ride I have a bike now so I’ll better ride it!

I will get more productive and spent my time wisely Enough said.

I will treat my body well Sometimes, I forget that I only have one body and do damage to it. With damage, I mean nothing too bad, but I do want to reduce that certain “damage” to a minimum.

I will spent more time outside my comfort zone Yikes! Last Sunday, while I was dying during swim class, I realized I would need to push myself harder to become a better swimmer, but this resolution pertains to all aspects of life.

I will swim 400 meter without any breaks See above.

Run 3 half-marathons I haven’t accomplished this goal from my 2012 list, but I am looking forward to running half-marathons this year.

Run a Sub-2 hour half-marathon (faster than 5:41 min/km)

Run a 5k or 10k  Never did these distances – automatic PR!

I will run on a track and do a speed workout, because I never went to a track to do a speed workout and I guess it could make me faster. Does that make sense?

I will run with a pace under 5 min/km for at least 1 km I run a 5:05 for km 9 during the Koehlbrandbruecken Race. Yes, it was downhill, but that doesn’t mean I can run 6 seconds faster on an even road with a little more than 6 weeks of training.

I will get a real job and with “real”, I mean a job that can either pay my bills or gives me an incredible amount of knowledge.

I will get a new doctor And by that, I mean a doctor than can actually solve the mysterious signs of my body.

Improve my Danish I moved back to Germany about 6 month ago, and I noticed that I haven’t done much to keep the language. I worked hard to learn Danish, and I don’t want to give it up without fighting. It’s hard keeping a language if there is no one around who speaks it as well, but I have a few books in Danish I could read, and there is always the possibility to learn just a few words I don’t know in Danish yet.

I will read 20 books That would be 4 more than in 2012- totally doable!

Please notice that those resolutions are not in a particular order, even though it won’t matter, because I will accomplish all of them!-enter a big smiley face of myself here-(decided to keep this list simple and without absurd pictures of myself)

Have you made New Year’s Resolutions? Tell me about them!

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2013 Is Going To Be The Best Year Ever

  1. That sounds like an amazing year! I totally agree with your first paragraph that 2012 had ups and downs and I too am ready for a fresh start!

  2. Li Li says:

    I love all your goals– especially the “get more productive and spend your time wisely”. This is something I need to focus on as well. I spend too much time watching TV, sadly.

    Happy New Year and best wishes for achieving your goals! 🙂

  3. Pingback: On Why There Is No Marathon In My 2013 Resolutions | ninaruns

  4. Pingback: Oh Hey, Update Time! | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

