What drives me?

Yesterday’s run was a run that I really want to forget. They say you never regret going out for a run, and it’s true, but that doesn’t mean you will be glad going out for a run.

I planned 8km, which were corrected to 5 km right after I woke up. As soon as I started, I knew it was going to be hard. I had been sick all Sunday and after a few minutes, I realized 5 km weren’t going to happen. Finished my run in 3.3 km without feeling happy.

Sick day means wearing a huge sweater and glasses.

I am still happy about other things, though. For example getting outside for a run in the first place. I want to start increasing my weekly mileage again, and I am going to work hard for keeping that goal in mind every-single-day.

Last week, I run for a total of three times! It’s a big deal these days.  When the temperature falls and the numbers of raindrops rolling down my window rises, I am not excited to go outside and run. Nope, not at all.

Off-season over here means no running events to train for. Unfortunately, the thing about off-season is that you don’t need to run. I have been searching for fun events to train for, but it’s freaking difficult to find a race that sounds fun and does not include traveling to a warmer place on earth at this time of the year.

As I get a little older and maybe also smarter, I find that there are only two things that can motivate me to get my little butt out and DO something:

  1. A training date- either with a club or with a friend
  2. Races!

I am getting up at 5.55 am every Sunday for a few weeks now,  and even if I always consider staying in bed, I make it to the 7.30 am swim class EVERY Sunday. I’d never cancel a workout date with anyone other than myself. I even got up last Sunday, but then decided waking up this early wasn’t a good idea when being sick and went back to bed.

It’s quite similar with races. When I am registered for a race- I run it (except that one time when I signed up for a half marathon in one country, but had to be in another at the same day). I won’t spent money on a race and then run the risk of not racing because I haven’t trained enough. Seriously, sign me up for a race and I will get out on a rainy, dark morning to run.

The thing about running is, that I train alone. No triathlon-group-runs for me (yet). No friends in the area that want to get out and run with me neither. Bummer!

So last week was the first week of real training since the Köhlbrandbrückenlauf in October, and I enjoyed the runs so much that realized that I need a new goal to train for.

I think it’s time to plan my races for 2013!

Any tips for how to stay motivated during late fall/ winter? Have you planned your races yet? Any goals you want to crush in 2013? 

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Goals, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What drives me?

  1. On my off season, I try to work on getting faster. Because in the race season, I like to focus on distance. But, three days of running a week is usually my max in the off season. Hope you’re feeling better!

    • Nina says:

      Thanks for sharing! I always thought it would be better to work on distance instead of speed, but then, you life in a warmer place than I do, so this might be different depending on where you live.

  2. I really want to PR at The Colorado Marathon. I lived in germany for the past year and really slacked on racing (only ran 2) and want to have a great racing year.

  3. Pingback: Nina Runs Turns 1 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

