A Lovely Fall Run

Over the past two weeks, I haven’t been running much. After my 12 km race on October 3rd, I took three days off because of muscle soreness. Then, I went on my first road bike trip ever, which left me with even more soreness and backache. I never thought that riding a road bike would cause so much pain. Maybe a two hours trip isn’t the perfect choise for your first try?

Bike ride was followed by a whole week of doing nothing. Swim classes were canceled for the week, and when I was able to move normal again, the weather wasn’t exactly inviting me for a run, so I was lazy.

Last week, I went on a run, went to spin class, swim class and strength training. Total of 5 hours and 30 minutes of training last week! I haven’t done that much since I started writing my Bachelor thesis in the end of April!

However, I still want to focus on running and adding milage every week so I will be ready to run a marathon some day (soon).

This week: No excuses!

My arms and shoulder are sore from swimming? It doesn’t matter- my legs will still carry me when running! It rains? Thats great, it will prepare me for rainy race days in the future!

It’s all about motivation and focusing on the goals, and not on the things I rather do on a rainy fall day.

With that said, I went out on a lovely 5 km run today.

oh pretty forest!

Turns out running during fall is fun, especially when running in the woods.

I have never run in the forest during fall. Ever!

… it’s even prettier in real life.

I was always a summer runner, meaning I enjoyed running when it was nice and warm outside (not hot, but nicely, perfeclty warm). I never run during winter, and when I finally decided to make running a habit all year around, I lived in Denmark. Don’t get my wrong, those runs were perfect, I saw the Baltic Sea on every run. (I lived on a small island, I could go in every direction but still see the sea.) I miss running there, but running on trails and through leaves makes my happy and pleased.

I just wished fall would last longer.

Are you enjoying running during fall? What is your favorite running season and why?

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Running, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Lovely Fall Run

  1. Nice photos! I absolutely love running in fall. However, I haven’t been able to get too much of it in due to knee frustrations.
    Yes, the first couple long bike rides do cause a sore lower back! If it continues, check out the fit of your bike so it doesn’t cause any knee, hip, or back issues.

    • Nina says:

      For my first ride, I borrowed a bike, so it was definitly unfitted! When I get my own bike, I will let it get fitted for me, since I don’t know much about it yet. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Melissa says:

    Cool places! I didn’t like biking when I was running. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

