Joining A (Triathlon) Club

I moved back to Hamburg in August, and moving back to my hometown meant giving up my gym membership (so expensive here) and giving up being member of the climbing club.

For a long time, this meant no sweaty fun for me. For even longer, it meant pulling my weaker self together and getting out there for runs by myself. Sure, the Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf helped getting motivated, but I can’t remember running in the rain once during training. Hamburg equals rain, so you can guess how many times I switched my runs to a later date.

When the mother of a friend told me about a triathlon club I could join, it didn’t take long to get me hooked.

I joined the club for a swimming lesson two weeks ago, and then finally decided to officially join last week. I’ve been to the swimming lessons twice yet, and still have a lot to learn. To quote the coach: “Nina, you have to turn your head out of the water before breathing in”. So, lots to learn.

This Sunday, I met with a group of beginners to join the cycling coach for a little tour. I was glad enough to be able to borrow a road bike from my friends mother, since I still don’t own one myself. It was a lot of fun, I guess, because I already started looking up potential road bikes, but during my first ride ever (2 hours!), I was in pain. I never expected it to be so hard to simply sit on a bike. My legs and back are still sore.

I know it’s getting colder every day now and the cycle tours are limited this year, so  for now, I will focus on becoming a better swimmer and runner, not cyclist. Maybe, I will be a triathlete next year.

Are you member of a triathlon club? A running club? Any club? Tell me!

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Joining A (Triathlon) Club

  1. It’s awesome that you have a group to train with! I would want that if/when I get into triathlons. I used to be a part of Team In Training (http://www.teamintraining.org) which is like a running club but mostly a sports charity training program. This was crucial to my learning process as a new runner because they really held our hands and encouraged us. Now that I’m more experienced, I’d like to join an ultra/trail running group and there are quite a few but most are an hour away and it’s impossible to join them for morning mid week runs.

    • Nina says:

      A ultra/trail running group sounds fun! I wished I had more trails near me. Maybe you could join them for their weekend long runs?
      I heard about Team In Training, I think the idea of a sports charity training program is amazing but I haven’t found anything similar in Germany yet. I did a lot of mistakes when I started running so I am really happy I can get a little help now.

  2. Corrie Anne says:

    I’ve been wanting to join a running group!!! A tri club sounds amazing.

    • Nina says:

      It’s pretty great to use the experience of others to get better in any sports, and it’s also great to meet other peope with the same interests. i think you should give it a try, if it’s possible!

  3. That’s awesome! Cycling is easy to get hooked on, and I think you did! That’s an impressive first ride!
    Enjoy the swimming and running during the colder months. It’ll really help you in the long run!
    I’m not with any club, but I’m fortunate that my husband and I train together.

    • Nina says:

      Thanks, I really hope I’ll be able to swim “ok” once it’s getting warmer again. I’d love to do a triathlon next year and I want to feel saver in the water when I am doing one.
      It’s great that you and your husband train together! On some of my training runs, I see a couble in their late 60s/early 70s who run together, I think that is the coolest thing ever. It’s so important to share a passion.

  4. Pingback: A Lovely Fall Run | ninaruns

  5. Pingback: Nina Runs Turns 1 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

