Running Minus Pain Equals Pure Awesomeness

One reason why I enjoy running is that I get to know my limits. Sometimes, running just isn’t fun and running is certainly not easy. In fact, it’s hard. And sometimes, it is so hard that it hurts.  

Pain is not simply just pain. The pain I feel when I push my limits and extend them a little is great. During and after those runs I feel like I am on top of the world. 

The pain I had felt in my knees for almost a year was not so much fun, and it left me depressed and scared. Scared because I didn’t know if I would be able to reach the goals I set myself a long time ago. 

I took a break from running for this reason, and for some other reasons. Now that I am back in training, I can’t believe how I could live without running for so long. I can’t say that I missed it much during the time off (even though I thought about running every single day), but now I have fallen back in love with it. 

Someone posted this on Facebook, and I couldn’t find a  real source, so if this belongs to you, just tell me!

When you are always worried if your knees will hurt before you go out and run, running becomes extremely difficult. I don’t know how many times I just sat there in running clothes, not knowing if I should run.

Now, after the break, my injury is fully recovered. I don’t have any pain, and I have enjoyed every run this month. Sure, I am a bit slower, but speed will come back eventually. Who know that running without pain would feel like running on cotton. Or running in heaven.

So, let’s talk about how great running has been last Tuesday.

On Tuesday,I felt.

So, does this mean I am a real runner know?

I have read some blog post, where runners wrote how they have fallen during their runs. I used to be that girl who couldn’t understand how someone could fall while running. Now, I know. Trails seem to be dangerous. Turns out, there are roots and rocks lying around everywhere. Weird!

My elbow and knee looked bad, but after a  shower it just wasn’t that bad anymore. I got a few bruises, but nothing too bad. 

I prefer dirt over blood.

After the fall, which happened after the first mile, I got up quickly, tried to clean myself a bit and start running again. This run happened to be the farthest run this month (6,6 km!) and also the happiest.

It’s true, you’ll never regret lacing up those running shoes!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

