Back In Training

Last week, I went running again. I was scared of just going outside and start running, so I pushed it away for a little while until I stopped telling myself I couldn’t and just did.

A little flashback:

On April 29th, I went on a 12 km run and came back with my knee hurting bad.

I decided to give myself a break, since I had been dealing with knee pain for way too long.

On June 3rd, I run 5 km and celebrated an almost knee pain “come-back-run”.

Shortly after, I sprained my ankle while carrying my suitcase down stairs at the central station in Hamburg.

In addition, I felt worse due to something I still expect to be celiac disease. During the past weeks, I tried to adapt to a gluten-free diet, but my body seemed to need some time. I will know if I have celiac disease by the end of this week, but for now, I can say that my stomach is quite happy with my (almost always) gluten-free meals.

While my body was ready to run again, my mind wasn’t. I was scared to run because I believed that I couldn’t run a mile and would get depressed about it. A week or two passed, and I still didn’t run.

Last Wednesday, I got over it and run. I was much slower and had to take two or three little walks during the 5 km I run, but it wasn’t even half as bad as I thought it would be.

My second run went even better (no walking, just running!) and even though my 5k pace went from 5:30 min/km to 6:30 min/km, I am quite happy to be running again.

Seriously, I am happy. I am so happy about running again that I signed up for a race.

On October 3rd, I will run the “Köhlbrandbrückenlauf“, a 12 km race across the bridge that connects the south of Hamburg with the north.

Now, I have to stick with my training. No “i-can’t-do-it”-moments anymore.

The first week back in training looked like this:

Add me on dailymile!

Wednesday: 4,81 km in 32min, 57 sec (6:51 min/km) + 15 min stretching

Thursday: 15 min stretching

Friday: 4,7 km in 30min, 30 sec. (6:30 min/km)

I planned a 5k run on Sunday, but Sunday was the hottest day of the year with over 35°C, so I decided to be smart and don’t run.

Until October 3rd, I will build up mileage slowly with 3-4 runs a week. I also plan to include 3-5 stretching sessions and 3 sessions I will call “mission-happy-knees”. Since happy knees is what runners wish for, right? These sessions will include exercises for the knees, which I got while I was in therapy last year.

I also have my eyes on something  much bigger  than the race on October 3rd, but I won’t tell you until it’s for sure. (Can you guess what it is?)

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Kohlbrandbruckenlauf and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back In Training

  1. John says:

    Glad you’re feeling better. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Kohlbrandbrückenlauf Training: Week 2 | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf Training: Week 3 | ninaruns

  4. Pingback: Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf Training: Week 4 | ninaruns

  5. Pingback: Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf Training: Week 5 | ninaruns

  6. Pingback: Koehlbrandbrueckenlauf Training: Week 6 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

