Stairs Are Dangerous For A Graduate

Hey everyone, do you remember me? I am the girl who can’t walk down stairs without hurting my ankle. Cause walking down stairs is freaking dangerous.

Ouch!

I did run 5 km in the beginning of June. My knee felt good and I couldn’t wait to start back running. Then I stumbled while walking down stairs with my heavy suitcase at the central station in Hamburg. Two hours later, my ankle was swollen and I couldn’t walk.

I was pretty confident that I could run again a few days later. Turns out, a sprained ankle needs much longer to heal- so no more running for me.

So, I am sorry for not posting and not reading your blogs- I just didn’t feel like it. I felt dumb being injured all the time, and I didn’t feel like reading happy running post.

So now, after two month of (almost) no running, I am extremely scared to run again. I hope I did not lose too much of my endurance.

I do have a few things I want to work on while starting running again:

  1. be smart about running, build mileage slowly.
  2. hydrate! The past weeks, I haven’t drunk enough water, even though I know it’s important.
  3. do the exercises my physical therapist gave me constantly, three times a week.  

There has been some good news, too:

No, the jacket did not belong to my outfit- it was simply cold outside.

I graduated!! 

I can’t believe how fast these past three years went by. I am scared and excited for the future all at the same time.

Stay tuned! I am going to update my post more than two times in two month in the future. That’s a promise!

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stairs Are Dangerous For A Graduate

  1. John says:

    Congratulations on graduating and commiserations on the ankle 😦 I broke my ankle last year, when I got home with my leg in plaster there was my race number waiting for a 10k, I wasn’t a happy bunny. As you say follow the physio’s instructions and build your mileage slowly. Get well soon!

  2. Melissa says:

    So sorry to hear about your ankle. You will come back full force once you heal! Congratulations on graduating!

  3. Pingback: ninaruns

  4. Pingback: Back In Training | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

