Injured

or: Hamburg Half Marathon Training: Week 3

Hello my friends,

sorry for the lack of posts the past week, I’ve been kind of busy (read: “almost done with my studies and still so much to do before getting that degree”). I can’t believe how fast the last 3 years went by. I feel like I just moved here.

Anyways, I took a little break from running, since my left calf has been hurting for a little while now.

Good news: it does not hurt anymore!

Other good news: I run today.

Bad news: my left knee started to hurt while running today. Note: my left knee is supposed to be my “good knee”. I’ve had troubles with my right knee, but never with my left knee before.

But let’s start from the beginning.

I woke up at 7 am – pretty early for a Sunday. At 8 am, I was ready to run.

ready to run!

 

I was pretty happy about the fact that it was warm enough to wear shorts. First time this year!

Also, see these wonderful CEP compression socks? I got them from the German magazine  Runner’s World in order to review them. They arrived just in time to help me with my calf problem! I’ll make sure to share my review with you.

I started running. The weather was beautiful and I tried to keep my pace slow, since I planned to run 16 km.

At kilometer 8, my left knee started to hurt. I didn’t stumble across something, it just started to hurt for no reason. I tried to run a bit further but then decided to go home the shortest way possible. I run 12 km (7,5 miles) in a little over 1 hour and 15 minutes.

At home, I iced my knee and turned on my TV:

Hamburg Marathon!

Course records for both the male runners and the female runners. Shami Dawit run the Hamburg marathon in 2:05:58, and Rael Kiyara finished in 2:23:47. So incredible fast!

I really hope my knees are going to be better, because I really want to run this race next year.

Right now, the inside of my left knee hurts so much that I can’t even lift my leg without being in pain.

I planned a short run tomorrow, but I’ll probably be a smart girl and won’t run. I don’t know how long my knee will hurt, but I hope the pain does not mean the end of my half marathon goals.

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Hamburg Half Marathon 2012, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Injured

  1. loratastic says:

    I hope your injury gets better soon! You’re going to love the CEP socks… my only wish is that they were a bit more ventilated in the foot so I could wear them running. I find them to get too hot, so I use them for recovery. The sleeves just aren’t the same.

    • Nina says:

      Thanks, I hope I’ll get to run again soon! I think the CEP socks are waaay to warm for “warmer days”. I don’t think I will wear them much on my runs during summer. I do find them good for recovery, I am just not sure if they really help.

  2. Pingback: Oh, it’s almost June and I haven’t blogged this month? | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: ninaruns

  4. Pingback: Back In Training | ninaruns

  5. Pingback: Nina Runs Turns 1 | ninaruns

  6. Pingback: On Why There Is No Marathon In My 2013 Resolutions | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

