Speed!

Yesterday, I did my first speed training of my Hamburg half marathon training.

My plan was to run 8 km: 1 km warm-up, 4,8 km in a 5:35 pace and then a cool-down.

I wasn’t sure if I could run that fast, because my last couple runs were a lot slower and felt hard. And by hard, I mean it felt bad. Very bad.

So I started to run and where surprised to see my splits: they were faster than I originally planed!

The ones marked are the important ones. Just to make sure you see how fast I was.

I am not going to lie. This run was hard. The people who saw (or heard me) probably thought I was about to pass out.

I finished the run, including the slow(er) warm-up and cool-down parts, with an average of 5:39 min/km.

In order to finish the half marathon in under 2 hours, I need to run at least 5:42 min/km. To make sure I am on the safe side, I’d like to run 5:39 min/km on June 24.

Help me make this possible! Share your favorite speed-workout with me!

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Hamburg Half Marathon 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Speed!

  1. misszippy1 says:

    Nice work! The first couple of speed sessions are always so hard. So here’s my favorite speed workout (on the track): You do 3 x 1600 repeats. Begin each 1600 in the inside lane. After each 400, move out a lane. The trick is to keep the same splits all the way throughout, even though each 400 is getting slightly longer. It’s hard but it’s a great way to teach your body to stay strong throughout!

  2. Pingback: Hamburg Half Marathon Training: Week Two | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

