Week 11 Recap And Why I Don’t Think It’s The End Of The World When I Don’t Run The Half Marathon On Saturday

Hello my friends! Excited for the belated recap of week 11/2012? I’ve been kind of busy figuring out my life (aka what to do after graduation) and spent most time on Monday getting ready to leave for home. So I am home now, which means I officially won’t run the half marathon on Saturday, which makes me a little sad, but also kind of happy.

Reasons why I don’t think it’s the end of world anymore:
1. Turns out, it’s extremely difficult to get to the start and finish line without a car. I could have used a train, which stops near the finish line every 2 hours. Knowing how things always turn out for me, I know I would have to wait there for one hour and 59 minutes. Not cool, especially with taking a look at Nr. 2 of this list.
2. No showers. Seriously? When there is a race starting and ending in the middle of nowhere, how is it possible that there are now showers somewhere around the finish line? The race planners only made this public last Saturday. For me, this would mean standing outside freezing for 1 hour and 59 minutes. And probably being ill the next week.
3. The real reason I am already home. One side of my jaw has been bothering me for the past 3 weeks, especially when running. Running for 2 hours + would have meant pain. I am going to the dentist tomorrow.

Last week looked like this:

Monday: Pilates
Tuesday: 9 km (5,6 miles) in 50:08 (Avg Pace 5:34 min/km) + boxing
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: climbing
Friday:  Rest
Saturday: 7,1 km ( 4,4 miles) in 41:38 (Avg Pace 5:52 min/km)
Sunday: Rest

Only two running days, but my run on Tuesday was great! Maybe the best ever. The weather was great, and I had been feeling happy since I woke up. I try to now luck on my Garmin that much during runs, so that I don’t run too fast when I don’t feel like it, but also that I don’t slow down when I think I am too fast.

When I was back home, I looked at my splits and saw this:

Made me even more happy.

About Nina

a 20-something girl, full-time student trying to become a runner. Thanks for visiting my site!
This entry was posted in Highway 1/2 Marathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 11 Recap And Why I Don’t Think It’s The End Of The World When I Don’t Run The Half Marathon On Saturday

  1. Kara says:

    Definitely not the end of the world! Do you have another one in mind? Way to go with your running/getting faster!

    • Nina says:

      I have 3 others in mind. I definitely run the half in Hamburg in June, and then there are two close to where I live now, but I am not sure about running them. One is in April (maybe too soon?) and one is in May (very hilly, and I never run hills). So we’ll see 🙂

  2. Pingback: What drives me? | ninaruns

  3. Pingback: Nina Runs Turns 1 | ninaruns

Leave a Reply

